Communication Minded’s Summer Must Read

There is nothing like settling down with a good book. The summer is a particularly nice time to sit in the warm sunrays and soak in a good read. As there is still another month of pool time left, I highly recommend you pick up a copy of Aziz Ansari’s book Modern Romance.

For those of you who don’t know Ansari, he is a comedian and actor best known for the character of Tom Haverford in the late TV show Parks and Recreation. In addition to acting, he also tours the country performing his comedy acts – some of which have made their way onto Netflix. His latest venture was writing the book below.

41LaBpUJBHL

Disclaimer!!! I am a huge Ansari fan. I have always got his humor and love his somewhat geeky, hip, and intelligent personality. If I could have a close circle of celebrity friends, he would be on the list. So when I heard he was coming out with a book, I knew I had to check it out.

I assumed the subject matter would be all about Aziz: his life, what he has learned from his personal relationships, his acting and comedy career, etc. Instead of that, I got Ansari walking me through a 2-year, in-depth exploration of love.

When I say in-depth, I mean in-depth. Ansari and sociologist Eric Klinenberg did their research. They even conducted their own focus groups, forums, and interviews. They do an excellent job of showing how technology has changed the dating world and the intimate relationships we seek, and Ansari’s comedic narration does so in an entertaining way.

So why am I recommending a “dating book” to a group of IMC professionals? The reason is because throughout my read I was constantly finding information that could be applied to the IMC world.

If they found communication in relationships were altered because of X, Y, and Z, what does that mean for an advertiser trying to build a relationship with a customer? After all, beginning and sustaining relationships is what we as marketers seek. So while this is not a traditional must read for the field, I think this book will leave you asking questions about the relationships we as communicators are trying to build, and how the approach we use is affected by the technology we do it through.

Have you read Ansari’s new book? What did you think? Do you think it is a communication minded worthy read? What points did you particularly find interesting?

-Caroline Robinson

Leave a Reply

