A new perspective on junk email

Hello Communication Minded friends, another month has gone by and we are pleased to let you hear from our newest guest contributor, Morgan Fitzgerald. Another fellow alum, Morgan graduated in 2012 from UNCW with a degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing, as well as, a minor in Journalism. After moving back to Raleigh to pursue a career in tech support, Morgan realized that being a “techy” wasn’t her forte. Since that revelation, Morgan has moved back to Wilmington to pursue her real interest – marketing.  Today she tells us about her experience as a young professional in the industry of email advertising.

A new perspective on junk email

“SPAM… not the canned meat product, but Spam known as “irrelevant or inappropriate messages sent on the Internet to a large number of recipients.” Spam is what people hear or assume I take part of after listening to my drawn out job description. Spam is one thing that I make a point to avoid, but also deal with everyday.

I recently started a new career in Wilmington around six months ago, that has to do with….You guessed it, Spam.  After filling out one job application after another, I secured a position at Simpleview, a Destination Marketing Solutions company, originally based in Arizona, but with a small office  here in Wilmington. My current title is Email Marketing Associate. When I try to explain to people what I do as an Email Marketing Associate, the first thing they say is, “Oh, so you are the one who sends me Spam.” So I will try to explain my position and let you be the judge of whether or not I am the annoying Spam sender.

Working for a destination marketing company, my clients are primarily Convention and Visitors Bureaus (CVB’s). We provide websites, customer relationship management (CRM) software, and email products for these CVB’s. Once a client has purchased our email services, my co-worker and I conduct trainings of the email platform system that the clients use. Clients learn how to create emails, how to send emails, and how to download templates. If a client is having a specific issue with their email template, I also help redesign the html code so their email will look like what they are envisioning.

If you aren’t familiar with these emails, imagine going to a new city, and receiving a tourist pamphlet of what hotels are nearby or which restaurants are good. Like a pamphlet, these emails help direct you where to go and tell you what is interesting about that particular city.  CVB’s typically send seasonal or monthly newsletter to inform their recipients of upcoming events happening in the city. Their websites and emails are important to check because most of them are non-profit organizations that are genuinely advertising for their city to help local businesses and city profit from tourism.

I will admit, that I myself used to automatically hit delete when receiving those emails in my inbox, but now that I am considered a part of the industry, I have found those emails are actually very helpful; For work they help me analyze the designs and content of our company’s  competitors, and for personal use, I have found such types of emails really are informative for being in a new city.

Regardless of what people say, emails are a part of everyone’s everyday life and will continue to be a part of the everyday normal. You may call it SPAM, but I call it a paycheck.”

Morgan Fitzgerald

Morgan Fitzgerald

LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

